PTI wins PK-67 DI Khan by-election

PESHAWAR - The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ikramullah Khan Gandapur unofficially won PK-67 Dera Ismail Khan constituency of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly by obtaining 27,210 votes in by-election held here on Sunday.
According to unofficial statistics, Ikram bagged 27,210 votes while his closest Fateh Ullah Mian Khel (Independent) obtained 15,818 votes. The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly seat PK-67 had fallen vacant after former law minister Israrullah Khan Gandapur was killed in a suicide bomb attack when he was receiving Eid greetings from people of his constituency. Eight other people were also killed along with him.
The late Israrullah Gandapur had won this seat as an independent candidate in May 2013 general elections.
Voting for the bye-election started at 8am and concluded at 5pm at 91 polling stations set up for 108,899 registered voters in the constituency. Heavy contingents of police and FC were deployed during the polling to maintain law and order situation, besides, army was put on high alert to avoid any untoward situation.
However, some unidentified men threw a hand-grenade at a station near Kulachi, injuring two people. The attackers also resorted to aerial firing and fled away.
It has also been reported that women were stopped from casting their votes at the polling stations in Garhi Shamozai in the constituency.

on epaper page 2
election khan di wins pti
more in National

KARACHI- MQM leader Altaf Hussain has expressed condemnation of extrajudicial killings of tw...

SARGODHA- An ailing girl declared dead by the doctors today suddenly woke up, leaving everyo...

comments powered by Disqus