SECONd annual 100 peace awards ceremony held

PESHAWAR - The 2nd annual 100 peace awards ceremony of the Khyber Star Sports Magazine was held here Monday at Lala Rafique Sports Arena wherein 100 awards among male and female players, who excelled at Inter-school, Inter-college, Inter-varsity, National and International levels, distributed.
MNA from Fata Nasir Khan, KPK Sports Minister Mehmood Khan, ex-Sports Minister Aqil Shah, FATA Olympic Association secretary Shahid Khan Shinwari, ex-world champion Jansher Khan, World No 2 Mohib Ullah Khan, PTI Sports and Culture Wing president Engr Saeed Mehmood graced the occasion as guests of honours and distributed the awards.
Around 400 applications were received among them 100 players, both male and female, were short-listed by five member scrutiny committee headed by senior sports journalist Ijaz Ahmad.
Addressing the ceremony, PTI Sports and Culture Forum president Engr Saeed lauded the efforts of the magazine management for encouraging players at school, college, university, national and international levels. He said the PTI government was very keen to have more and more sports activities in the province. He said they had launched a talent hunt schemes in all districts of KP to short-list good and talented players. The selected players would go under rigorous training and coaching before their selection for the national level.
FOA secretary Shahid read the message of the KP governor who appreciated the POA president Lt Gen (r) Arif Hassan and Aqil Shah for their efforts in forming the FOA. He also lauded the management of magazine for awarding talented players. He also announced holding of FATA-KP Games in February next year. Shahid said that they had been spending money from their own pockets in order to involve the youth of Fata in healthy sports activities.
Out of the 100 awards winners, some of the prominent winner including SAF Gold medalist Khalid Noor (karate), M Rizwan (cricket), Yasir Islam (hockey), Hashim Khan (bodybuilding), Riaz Afridi (Test cricketer), Atiq Shinwari (football), Nisar Afridi (football), Salman Afridi (cricket), Fawad Khan (athletic), Sami Ullah (athletic), Laiba Ijaz (squash), Qainat (TT), Adeela (athletics), Laila Akbar (athletic/squash), Nazia (cycling), Javeria (badminton), Ihsan Ullah (TT) and Imtiaz Khan (athletic special players), Amar Khan (special player), Taimur Khan (golf), (organisers) Zulfiqar Butt, Awan Hussain, Najma Qazi and Rahim Bibi, Zahir Shah, Ilyas Afridi, Taimur Afridi, Malik Farman, Fayyaz Ali Shah, Bahre Karam, Tajamal Hayat, Shahid Khan Shinwari, Aqil Shah, Aurangzeb Khan, Tariq Mehmood, Wisal Khan, Zafar Ali Khan, Haroon Bilour, Shah Faisal, Murtaza Hasan, Saif-ul-Islam, Musharaf Khan, Din Muhammad, Faqir Awan, Basit Kamal, Engr Saeed Mehmood, (coaches) Jaffar Shah, Aziz Khan, Pervez Khan, (legendary) Jansher Khan, Qamar Zaman, Mohib Ullah and Abdur Rahim (volleyball) while Amjad Aziz Malik (journalist).

on epaper page 17
more in Sports

COLOMBO - Sri Lanka's cricket selectors on Wednesday sacked Dinesh Chandimal as Twenty20 cap...

KARACHI - The war of words between Rashid Latif and the PCB has intensified after the former...

comments powered by Disqus