LAKKI MARWAT - The process of filing nomination papers reached climax late Sunday night as several aspirants filed their documents for the one national and three provincial assembly seats of the district.

A local JUI-F leader Engineer Haji Ameer Nawaz Khan filed nomination documents of central chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman with the Returning Officer for NA-27 as Maulana Fazl could not visit the district for submitting his nomination papers because he was in Lahore in connection with the Islam Zindabad Conference.

The JUIF chief will confront PML (Likeminded) Salim Saifullah Khan for the national assembly seat. Other candidates who have nominated their papers for NA-27 included Maulana Jumma Khan Sarhadi, Zainuddin Khoidadkhel, Muhammad Halim, Ikramullah and Dr Abdullah Marwat.

For PK-74, Salim Nawaz of PTI, Nisar Ahmad, Muhammad Shoaib and Muhammad Illyas have filed their nomination papers. PPP Provincial President Anwar Saifullah, M Kamal, M Rafiq, M Shoaib submitted their nomination papers for PK-75 on the last day.

The aspirants who filed their nomination papers for PK-76 included Ishfaq Ahmad Kan Minakhel of PTI, Gul Aslam Khan Begukhel, Naseebullah, advocate Najibullah, advocate Sardar Ali, Dr Abdullah Khan and Hashim Khan Begukhel.

Police asked to ensure peaceful election process

District Police Officer Abdul Rashid have issued clear cut instructions to the station house officers and other subordinate officials to take all sorts of measures for curbing the menace of aerial firing during the process of elections.

“The local police will make no compromise on implementation of the election codes of conduct”, he maintained. He said that aerial firing was strictly prohibited as per polls related ethics and police would ensure implementation on it at all costs.

“The election aspirants, their supporters and people from all walks of life should extends their support towards police to eradicate the menace and conduct polling in peaceful atmosphere”, he added.