Omer displays top notch golf in Royal Palm Championship

LAHORE In the Royal Palm Annual Golf Championship, endorsed by Oracle, and contested over two rounds at the par-72 Royal Palm Golf Course, the youngster Omer Salamat emerged as the finest one out of 82 competitors and thereby acquiring the Royal Palm Champions title. In his pursuit for victory, Omer Salamat surpassed players like Shoaib Bokhari, considered an established one, Sardar Murad, the defending champion, the richly talented Hussain Hamid besides quite a few favourites like Faisal Ali Malik, Azfar Hassan, and Amir Mehmood who have a knack for winning but in this competition failed to filter out the emotions and played rather rashly. Whereas Shoaib Bokhari was totally disappointing and had a nightmarish round of gross 90 on the final day, Sardar Murad and Hussain Hamid took tumbles a bit too often during the concluding 18 holes and did not demonstrate a touch of fine tuned golf, making way for Omer Salamat to reign supreme in this champioship. For Sardar Murad the double bogie on the 9th hole was a big disadvantage and thereafter a tripe bogie on the closing 18th hole added agony to the disadvantage making his final round score of 84 rather distressful. Similarly Hussains three triple bogies on holes 5, 8 and 9 left him distraught. As for Omer Salamat, he played to a plan and fired successfully on at least 14 holes out of which he had birdies on holes 9, 11 and 14 and regulation pars on 11 holes but the triple bogies on the par-3, 2nd and 4th made his score less spectacular. From the statistical angle Omer Salamt won with scores of 81 and 78 and a total aggregate of 159, 15 over par. Sardar Murad the defending champion slumped to the runners up slot with scores of 80 and 84 the aggregate being 164. Other prize winners in this championship turned out to be Maj Ehteshamuddin for nearest to the pin, Muhammed Leghari for longest drive. The Captains prize winner was Muhammed Leghari with a net score of 140 and Naseer Akhter second with a net score of 142.The Champions Champion was Mohammad Leghari. Invitational event winners were Shakeel Ahmed(1st), and Dr Zafar Nasrullah(2nd). In a grand prize distribution ceremony attended by Ramzan Sheikh, Lt Gen Tariq, Naseer Akhter and a large number of golfers the country director of Oracle awarded prizes to the winners.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt