ISLAMABAD - Liaqat Ali broke his own national record in the 100 meters race with the time of 9.99 seconds to win gold medal for Army in the 46th National Athletics Championship male and female commenced here at Jinnah Stadium, Pakistan Sports Complex Friday.

Wapda is overall leader after the first day events concluded with total of 255 points, followed by Army in the second with total of 176 and HEC third with 74 points. Wapda, as usual, was leading in the female category, while Army was leading in male category.

Wapda chairman Zafar Mehmood was the chief guest at the grand opening ceremony, with AFP president Major General (R) M Akram Sahi, Army Sports Directorate Director General Brig Ghulam Jillani, AFP secretary Zafar and others were present on the occasion.

Wapda completely dominated female events by winning six golds out of seven on offer, with Army winning one gold, in 800m women race, Rabia Ashiq won gold, Samabia Noureen also from Wapda won silver and Bisma Afzal of HEC won bronze. In javelin throw, Saira Saeed of Wapda won gold with 37.83 meters, followed by Gulnaz Nasir of HEC in second and Tahira Parveen of Wapda third. In long jump, Mariam Babar of Wapda won gold, Nighat Kausar of HEC silver and Amina Siraj also from HEC bronze. In shot put, Zeenat Parveen of Wapda won gold, Nazia Kausar also from Wapda silver and Kandeel Anayat HEC bronze. In high jump, Ume Habiba of Army won gold, Nasreen Akhtar Wapda silver and Rozina Shafqat also from Wapda bronze. In 100m Najma Parveen of Wapda won gold, followed by Sahiba-e-Asra also from Wapda silver and Samara Shabbir of Army bronze. In 10,000m race, Farhat Bano of Wapda won gold, Nasreen Kausar of Wapda silver and Farhat Batool of HEC bronze.

In male competitions, Wapda and Army bagged three golds each. In pole vault, Rehan Anjum of Army won gold, followed by Adnan Anjum of Army silver and M Ismail of Wapda bronze. In 5000m, Ramiz Javed of Army gold, Adnan Khan also of Army silver and M Imran of Wapda bronze. In 100m, Liaqat Ali of Army broke national record winning gold in 9.99 seconds, followed by Sami Ullah of Wapda silver and Abdul Jabbar of Wapda bronze,. In triple jump, M Akhtar of Wapda won gold with 15.11 meters, Zafar Iqbal of Army silver and M Afzal of Army bronze. In shot put, Shafaqat Hussain of Wapda won gold with 16.75 meters, M Waseem Junior of Army won silver and M Waseem Senior of Army bronze. In javelin throw, Arshad Nadeem of Wapda won gold with 70.64 meters, Sana Ullah of Army silver and Shakeel Ahmed bronze which was first medal for Sindh.