LAHORE - HN Polo and Newage Cables/Master Paints qualified for the main final of the Tower 21 Quaid-e-Azam Gold Cup Open 2022 after winning their respective semifinals here at the Lahore Polo Club ground on Friday.

In the first semifinal of the day, Newage Cables/Master Paints outpaced Remounts 6-2 to book berth in the main final. Gonzalo Deltour was hero of the day for the winning side as he fired in fabulous four goals and Vieri Antinori and Alman Jalil Azam hit one goal each. For Remounts, Nico Roberts and Simon Prado struck one goal apiece.

Newage Cables/Master Paints opened their account by converting a 40-yard penalty to take 1-0 lead. They maintained their supremacy in the second and third chukkers by thrashing in three and two goals respectively to earn a healthy 6-0 lead. Remounts made their presence felt in the fourth and last chukker by scoring two goals to make it 6-2 but they couldn’t score more and lost by 2-6.

The second semifinal of the day proved to be a nail-biting encounter, where HN Polo beat Diamond Paints by 8-7. Titu Ruiz Guinazu emerged as star of the day for HN Polo as he pumped in four fantastic goals while Hamza Mawaz Khan, who replaced injured Raja Sami Ullah, hammered a hat-trick of goals and Hilario Ruiz Guinazu hit one. For Diamond Paints, Matias Vial Perez cracked a quartet while Guy Gibrat banged in a brace and Ahmed Ali Tiwana hit one.

Earlier, the match between FG Polo Team and Master Paints proved to be a thrilling one, where FG Polo emerged victorious with a close margin of 5-4 and also earned a place in the subsidiary final. Juan Ambroggio hammered a hat-trick for FG Polo while Ramiro Zavaletta banged in a brace. For Master Paints, Marcos Panelo thrashed in three goals and Bilal Haye scored one goal.

Today (Saturday), the match, which was postponed due to rain, will be played and the winners of this match will compete against FG Polo in the subsidiary final. The exciting semifinals were witnessed by Tower 21 CEO Hamza Malik, Lahore Polo Club President Umer Sadik, Secretary Agha Murtaza Ali Khan, executive committee members, players and their families and polo lovers.