LAHORE - Colin Munro and Azam Khan’s blazing fifties and Shadab Khan’s five-wicket haul helped Islamabad United thump Quetta Gladiators by 43 runs in the high-scoring 10th match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 at the National Stadium in Karachi.

While chasing the target of 230 runs, Gladiators got a 54-run opening start in 5.5 overs, but United bowlers continued to take wickets on the regular intervals to dent the mammoth run-chase. Opener Ahsan Ali scored a half-century and Mohammad Nawaz played a quick-fire 47-run knock, but it was too much for him against a brilliant United bowling attack. 

Shadab was brilliant with the bowl as he registered sensational figures of 5-28 in four overs and took key wickets of Ahsan Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Shahid Afridi. Gladiators skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed put United into bat after winning the toss, but the decision turned out to be a daunting one for his team as United batters went all guns blazing from the beginning. 

United’s opener Colin Munro played a sheer entertaining knock of 72 runs with the help of five sixes, while Azam Khan scored 65 with six huge sixes as they both smashed Shahid Afridi to all parts of the park in his first match. Afridi was the most expensive bowler for Quetta as he conceded 67 runs in four overs but clean bowled the dangerous-looking Azam. Apart from spinner Mohammad Nawaz who took two wickets for 32 runs in four overs, all the Gladiators bowlers were smashed.

Player of the match Colin Munro said: “It was a beautiful wicket to bat one. I wanted to keep the momentum going after the flyer we had got earlier on. I backed my strengths and tried to hit the ball hard. Azam Khan was outstanding, he is a wonderful ball-striker and it’s great to have him on our side from this year’s PSL.”

Scores in brief

ISLAMABAD UNITED 229-4, 20 overs (Colin Munro 72 not out, Azam Khan 65, Paul Stirling 58, Alex Hales 22; Mohammad Nawaz 2-32) beat QUETTA GLADIATORS 186 all out, 19.3 overs (Ahsan Ali 50, M Nawaz 47, James Faulkner 30 not out; Shadab Khan 5-28, Mohammad Wasim 2-27, Hasan Ali 2-50).


Lahore Qalandars


Islamabad United

At 2:30 pm


Peshawar Zalmi


Multan Sultans

At 7:30 pm