LAHORE   -  Aqeel Ahmad and Chaudhry Muhammad Ashraf have been re-elected as president and general secretary of Sports Journalists Association of Lahore (SJAL) while the election for the post of treasurer ended in a tie.

Aqeel Ahmad got 48 votes out of total 62 against Aftab Ahmad Tabi (13 votes) for the post of president while for secretary’s slot, Ch Ashraf earned 39 votes against Umar Farooq Kalson, who secured 22 votes. The toughest contest was witnessed for treasurer seat, where young sports journalist Abu Bakar Bilal got 31 votes and same (number of) votes were earned by veteran sports journalist Ihtesham-ul-Haq.

Meanwhile, the newly-elected SJAL body received congratulatory messages from various sports organizations, organizers and sportsmen. The prominent ones among them were PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja, national cricketers, POA President Lt Gen (R) Arif Hasan, Secretary Khalid Mehmood, Punjab Sports Minister Rai Taimoor Bhatti, Governor Punjab Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar, AFP President Maj Gen (R) Akram Sahi, SBP DG Javed Chohan, PHF President Brig (R) Sajjad Khokhar, Secretary Asif Bajwa, PHA president Khawar high officials, Chairman CPCA Abdullah Khan Sunbal, CEO Khurram Niazi, PLTA Chairman Rao Iftikhar and Secretary Rashid Malik, Commissioner Karachi Iqbal Memon, KBBA President Ghulam Muhammad Khan, RISJA, SJAS, LERA, EMRA and others. 

“The SJAL members have already made great contributions towards promotion of sports in Lahore and hopefully, they will continue their noble cause for the betterment of sports,” they added.