Lower Dir: Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) has retained the PK-95 (Lower Dir-II) seat with a decisive margin, in a male-voters-only by-election.

JI’s Lower Dir Ameer (chief) Aizaz-ul-Mulk Afkari scooped up 18,711, while Awami National Party’s (ANP) Bahadur Khan got away with 16,403 votes as the runner-up, according to unofficial results.

On the other hand, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) candidate Anwar Khan secured just 91 votes, independent Obaiduillah Sajid 24, Liaquat Ali 17, Maulana Ziaul Haq 304, and Mirzada got 102 votes.  

A total of 38284 were polled while 1273 votes were rejected. The bye-election was held in the constituency after JI Ameer (chief) Sirajul Haq stepped down, as member Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assembly in the favors of a senatorial seat.

Earlier, voting for the by-elections in PK-95 constituency held peacefully amid tight security arrangements. There are around 140,743 registered voters for the 85 polling stations across the constituency. Out of a total 85 about 33 polling stations were declared sensitive.

Though, JI Chief Sirajul Haq had appealed to the female voters to exercise their right to vote but not a single woman was allowed even to go near a polling station, which is why the turnout was alarmingly low and clearly male-dominated.