ISLAMABAD - The prestigious NBP-ICA Cricket League 2015 will commence here today (Wednesday).

More than Rs 100,000 will be at stake in shape of prize money. Participated by all the ICA-affiliated cricket clubs through their respective zones, the NBP-ICA CL15 will be played at different cricket venues of the federal capital with final to be played in color clothing and white balls.

In the initial round, all the teams will play in the zonal competition before two top teams from each zone will qualify for the Super-8 stage. There will also be league-based competition at Super-8 stage.  The winner will get Rs 60,000 and the runners-up will get Rs 30,000 cash awards with four individual cash prizes of Rs 5,000 each will be given away, besides prestigious trophies for the winners, runners-up and individual performers.

It is for the 10th consecutive year that Islamabad Cricket Association (ICA) - currently headed by Nasir Iqbal - holding the NBP-ICA CL with the sponsorship of the National Bank of Pakistan (NBP). This league contributes towards a systematic approach to promote club cricket and find new talent before putting them up at the senior level.

ICA President Nasir Iqbal told this scribe that such tournaments served as catalyst to promote cricket at grassroots level. "I think it is best way of promoting cricket at grassroots level and ICA always takes lead in holding league-based tournaments in the federal capital."

“The ICA will bear umpiring, scoring charges with providing free of cost cricket balls, and there is no fee being charged from any affiliated club for their entry into the month-long NBP-ICA CL15,” he added.  ICA Tournament Committee chairman Syed Abrar Rizvi said: “We greatly appreciate the NBP and its management for providing sponsorship for holding the NBP-ICA CL15 in a befitting manner.”  The tournament committee comprises Syed Abrar Ali Rizvi (chairman), Abdul Rauf Mirza (secretary), Nasir Iqbal, Irfan Manzoor, Ajmal Khan Sabir and Shabbir Ahmed (members).

On the opening day, three matches will be played in the East Zone. Quaid-e-Azam Club will take Millat Club at National Ground, Majid Memorial face Lucky Star at Margalla and Asif Memorial vie against CRA at Marghzar Ground.


CENTRAL ZONE: Pool-A: Classic, Al-Fateh, Young Capital, Imran Memorial, Pool-B: Diamond, XI-Star, King's Gymkhana, Warriors and Margalla.

WEST ZONE: Pool-A: Al-Muslim, Junoon, All Lucky Stars, Lashings, Mehran, and Youngsters, Pool-B: Punjab, All Youngstars, Panthers and Tigers (P and T), Ghouri, Capital Gymkhana.

NORTH ZONE: Pool-A: Islamabad Hawks, Evan, Islamabad Greeners, Essco, Pool-B: National, Islamabad Gymkhana, Shaheen.

EAST ZONE: Pool-A: Quaid-e-Azam, Millat, Majid Memorial, Lucky Star, Hassan Memorial, Pool-B: Asif Memorial, Rawal Town, Model Town, CRA and Muslim.