The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday announced the final squad for the ICC Men's T20 Cricket World Cup 2021.

According to the press release issued by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), three changes have been made in the Pakistan T20 Cup squad, which will be held in the United Arab Emirates from 17 October to 14 November.

According to the changes made by PCB in the final 15, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Haider Ali have replaced Azam Khan and Mohammad Hasnain respectively, while Fakhar Zaman, who was originally named as a travel reserve, has swapped his place with Khushdil Shah.

The decision on Sohaib Maqsood’s inclusion in the squad will be made following medical advice. The top-order batter underwent MRI scans for the lower back after the October 6 National T20 match against Northern and missed Thursday’s Punjab derby against Central Punjab.

PCB Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim said, “After reviewing player performances in the highly competitive National T20 and in consultation with the team management, we have decided to include Haider Ali, Fakhar Zaman, and Sarfaraz Ahmed in the squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.”

“The three in-form players bring with them a wealth of experience and talent and provide further stability, balance, and strength to the side. It must be tough for Azam, Khushdil, and Hasnain for missing out but they still have a lot to offer in their careers. They are in our future plans as a lot of cricket has to be played post the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 and in the lead up to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.”

“I am pleased with the intensity and high quality of cricket that we have witnessed in the National T20. It has not only provided the players excellent match practice in the lead up to the UAE competition, it has also given us the opportunity to closely monitor the player progress and then make decisions that are in the best interest of the side for what will be a cut-throat tournament,” the chief selector maintained.