Q MPs-losing spree continues

ISLAMABAD - The PML-Q has, once again, lost its strength in National Assembly as well as in the provincial assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa where a number of its MPAs have joined PML-N.
With the switching of Ameer Muqam from Q-league to PML-N, almost three of its MPAs have also joined N-league while the total strength of the party in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa was seven including MPA Nighat Yasmin (on reserved seat), besides the Q league which have almost six MNAs from KPK will now reduced to four as MNA Ameer Muqam has recently announced to resign from his membership of the National Assembly while Hamayun Saifullah Khan was already a part of PML-Q (Likeminded) anther group of dissidents being run by former Sindh Chief Minister Sindh Arbab Rahim.
Currently three MPAs from KPK who have accompanied Ameer Muqam in joining PML-N include MPA Fazlullah, MPA Rashid Khan and MPA Sanaullah Khan. However, sources in the party said that they might lose some more MPs from the province in coming days.
These seven MNAs of Q-League were Ameer Muqam, Shahzada Muhi-ud-Din, Shah Jahan Yusuf, Hamayun Saifullah Khan, Muhammad Nawaz Allai and Farzana Mushtaq (on reserved seat) while seven MPAs from the province include MPA Fazlullah, Ghulam Muhammad, Muhammad Rashid Khan, Nighat Ysmin Orakzai, Qalandar Khan, Sanaullah Khan Lodhi and Waji-uz-Zaman. MPA Waji-uz-Zaman had also joined PML-Q (Likeminded) however he later returned to Chaudhry brothers.
The PML-Q leadership has not yet decided to appoint someone as Provincial President of KPK and the newly formed committee would continue working in the province for the next three months. The committee was given a task to reorganise party in the province and then they will decide who would head the PML-Q in the province.
It is pertinent to mention here that Q-League, which came into the Parliament with a good strength in 2008 general elections, has been dividing in different groups like Unification bloc in Punjab Assembly, PML-Q (Likeminded), Tariq Azeem group in Senate and now it has deprived of its other MPAs from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa while the situation in Sindh was also not in good position.
The Q-League has also lost their Deputy Chairmanship of the Senate besides it has also less representation in the federal cabinet as it was after joining the ruling PPP in federal government as Ameer Muqam and Raza Hayat Hiraj have resigned from their respective ministries and no substitutes have been finalised yet.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt