ISLAMABAD - Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday decided to induct four more ministers in the federal cabinet, a statement issued by the Prime Minister’s media office said on Saturday.

The fresh inductees included Umar Ayub Khan, Ali Zaidi, Muhammadmian Soomro and Murad Saeed.

It further said that Umar Ayub Khan will be given the portfolio of Energy, Ali Zaidi will take the charge of Maritime Affairs, and former chairman Senate Muhammadmian Soomro will be the Minister for Privatisation while Murad Saeed’s portfolio would be announced later.

Sources in the government informed that Murad Saeed would be given the status of state minister and his portfolio would be decided later by the prime minister.

With the fresh induction, the federal cabinet would now swell to 23 while still the PTI government has plenty of space for induction of new members in it.

Under the constitution, Prime Minister Imran Khan could have a federal cabinet comprising 10 percent of the parliament’s strength and the upper limit of the cabinet size is 49 including five advisers and five special assistants.

Prime Minister Imran Khan was still keeping some very important ministerial portfolios with him including the interior and some insiders in the government informed that he would be inducting more ministers in coming days.

Recently Prime Minister’s Adviser on Parliamentary Affairs Babar Awan had resigned after filing of a corruption reference against him by the National Accountability Bureau.

In his resignation, Babar Awan said that he would first get his name cleared from the NAB case and then would hold any public office. Prime Minister Imran Khan had appreciated his decision and accepted the resignation.

PTI’s Naeemul Haq and Iftikhar Durrani have been appointed as special assistant to the Prime Minister on political affairs and media affairs respectively.


4 more ministers added to federal cabinet