No-trust motion: Imran Khan becomes first prime minister to be voted out of pow

In a historic first for Pakistan, Imran Khan has been ousted as the prime minister of Pakistan from office through a no-confidence motion after the National Assembly debated on the matter for more than 12 hours and the political situation in the country took a critical turn.

The session was chaired by Ayaz Sadiq — a member of the panel of chairs — after speaker Asad Qasier resigned from his post.

"174 members have recorded their votes in favor of the resolution, consequently the resolution for the vote on no-confidence against Mr. Imran Khan, the prime minister of Pakistan, has been passed by a majority," Ayaz Sadiq announced after the process of voting was completed.

Following the announcement of the result, the speaker called Shahbaz Sharif to deliver a speech.

"We cannot thank Allah enough for allowing us to see this new day," said Shahbaz.

He lauded the members of the Opposition for their patience and particularly thanked former president Asif Zardari, JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman, and several other party leaders their support.

As soon as Qasier announced his resignation from office, most of the treasury members stood up and exited the house, giving the Opposition in the National Assembly a clear majority in the motion even before a vote was cast.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt