LAHORE - Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Friday recalled middle-order batsman Umar Akmal for the upcoming Twenty20 series against the West Indies in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The 26-year-old, who was recalled five months after axing him on disciplinary grounds, has taken on the mantle of Pakistan's enfant terrible and has been involved in a number of on and off-field disciplinary breaches, the latest being a scuffle with a traffic policeman in Lahore last year. He was dropped after being heavily criticised in a post-mortem report written by head coach Waqar Younis in the aftermath of the World Twenty20 held in India in April this year, where Pakistan crashed out in the first round.

Umar was given chance after assuring the PCB he would mend his ways, and after a string of whirlwind knocks including a 48-ball 115 not out, an 81 and a 75 in the ongoing National Twenty20 event in Faisalabad. But there were no recalls for opener Ahmed Shahzad, also dropped on disciplinary grounds who suffered a back problem in the tournament.

Another opener M Hafeez was also left out after he returned home midway through the one-day series in England with calf and knee injuries. Also recalled are all-rounder Saad Nasim and paceman Rumman Raees. Left-arm paceman Raees has been included in Pakistan's Twenty20 squads twice a year but had to withdraw with injuries each time.

Wicket-keeper batsman Sarfraz Ahmed will lead the side, having made his captaincy debut for Pakistan in a nine-wicket win over England in Manchester on Wednesday. Lanky pacer M Irfan, who was picked for the England match but had to return home with a groin problem, has not been considered for the West Indies series as he has been directed to undergo rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) by the team’s head coach Mickey Arthur.

Pakistan and West Indies play the first two Twenty20 matches in Dubai on September 23 and 24 followed by the third in Abu Dhabi on September 27. Pakistan will also play three one-day internationals and as many Tests against the West Indies in UAE, for which squads will be announced later.

PAKISTAN SQUAD: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Babar Azam, M Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, M Aamir, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir, M Nawaz, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Saad Nasim, Rumman Raees.