On Thursday, Prime Minister Imran Khan constituted a committee to probe allegations that PTI members engaged in horse-trading ahead of the 2018 Senate elections.

The move follows a video going viral on social media that allegedly shows PTI members receiving large sums of money in exchange for their votes during the polls.

The committee will comprise Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry, Minister for Human Rights Shireen Mazari and Adviser to the PM on Accountability Shahzad Akbar. The three members will conduct a detailed probe into the events that transpired and submit a report to the premier containing recommendations.

Following the 2018 Senate elections, 20 PTI members were dismissed from the party after reports of them "selling their votes" surfaced.

Former PTI members Zahid Durrani and Obaid Mayar, who are visible in the video, were among those to have been dismissed at the time.

KP Minister for Law Sultan Muhammad who was part of the Qaumi Watan Party in 2017 but joined PTI prior to the 2018 general elections was also asked to resign after he was seen in the video.

These allegations will also be probed by the committee.