Voting continues for speaker, deputy speaker in NA

The 15th National Assembly resumed session today under the Chairmanship of Sardar Ayaz Sadiq to elect its speaker and deputy speaker.

The elections for the positions are being held through secret ballot.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) – the majority party in the House – has nominated Asad Qaiser for the slot of speaker, while the joint opposition has fielded Syed Khursheed Shah for the post.

For deputy speaker, PTI has named Qasim Suri while the joint opposition has nominated Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal leader Asad Mahmood.

Among those who cast the votes were PTI chairman and prime minister-in-waiting Imran Khan, and PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari who has been elected to the National Assembly for the first time. 

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt