Appreciation for the defeated

In Pakistan, most of the women have played their tremendous role in 25th July polls as compared to the polls in 2013. Some have participated as voters, party candidates, and as independent candidates from different constituencies. It is a way of progress as women have casted their vote from remote areas for the first time. Earlier, women who took part in the general elections, few of them have been elected and the others have been defeated. It was quite encouraging for the women who were previously restricted by men to go out and broke the stereotypes. But the defeated one should be appreciated because they contested against all odds in the general elections 2018. Few of them are listed below:

Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan:

Firdous Ashiq Awan is a former leader of PPP, a Pakistani physician, a bold politician from Sialkot in the province of Punjab. She had her Diploma in Hospital Management (DHM) from South Atlantic University USA, and after that, she returned to Pakistan and continued her education in medical sciences and got her MBBS from Fatima Jinnah Medical College (FJMC). During her practice as a doctor at Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, Lahore she founded an organization; Society for Health and Development Exchange (SHADE), its main task was to ensure work for public relief in the health department. She has contested 25 July 2018 polls as a PTI candidate and was defeated by her rival party PML-N’s candidate Armughan Subhani in NA-72 from Sialkot.

Dr Shezra Mansab:

Dr Shezra Mansab is a Pakistani politician and parliamentarian. She holds PhD in English Literature from the University of the Glasgow, UK. Her father Rai Mansab Ali Khan Kharal has served the country since 1962, being elected MNA in 1992. Rai has been elected as MNA five times MPA once and member of Majlis-e-shura in the 1980's. Her father has served as a Minister of State for Labour, Manpower and Overseas Pakistanis. Rai has written in Nawa-i-Waqt about current affairs for the betterment of Pakistan in domestic and Foreign Affairs. In General Election 2013, she was elected a member of the national assembly on a ticket of PML-N from NA-137 (Nankana Sahib-III (Old Sheikhupura-VII), 14th Assembly. She was the runner-up from NA-118 (Nankana Sahib-II) against Aijaz Ahmad Shah of PTI and lost the general elections 2018.

Saira Afzal Tarar:

Saira Afzal Tarar is a Pakistani politician and she served from August 2017 to May 2018 as Minister for National Health Services Regulation and Coordination in the Abbasi cabinet. She was born in Hafizabad on 7 June 1966. She was a teacher for two years at Pakistan Islamia Secondary School Sharjah UAE 1998 and 1999. She has matriculated from Queen Mary School 1983 and did her MSc Home Economics (Housing and Interior Designing) 1991 from College of Home Economics Lahore and one-year diploma course in Islamic Studies at Al Huda International 2003. The former federal minister of PML-N Saira Afzal Tarrar was defeated in NA-87 Hafizabad by her arch-rival Shaukat Ali Bhatti of the PTI.

Sonia Raza Shah:

Syeda Sonia Ali Raza Shah was the daughter of Late Syed Ali Raza Shah who was elected MPA in the Punjab Assembly seat of PP-89 twice. She was first time elected MPA in 2008 general election as an independent candidate and the 2nd time she contested on the party ticket of PML-N and remained the winner in election 2013. She remained MPA till his death in the last quarter of 2015. The candidate of PTI Sonia Ali Raza had first won the seat but after the recount, she lost the PP-123 constituency in Toba Tek Singh to PML-N’s Syed Qutub Ali Shah.

Ayesha Gulalai Wazir:

Ayesha Gulalai Wazir is the sister of Maria Toorpakay (A Pakistani Squash Player). Ayesha Gulalai had been a Member of the National Assembly of Pakistan from 2013 to May 2018 and is a former lawmaker of PTI. She had her master's degree from the University of Peshawar. She worked as a journalist after graduating, first as a Pashto newscaster at the PTV in Peshawar and later at The News International. She started her political career as a human rights activist from South Waziristan. She joined Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and was nominated as a member of the PTI central committee in 2012. Gulalai has been elected indirectly as a candidate of PTI to the NA on a reserved seat for women from the FATA in general election 2013. She was the first-ever female Member of the National Assembly from FATA as well one of the youngest members of the parliament. She quit PTI when she alleged PTI’s Chairman Imran Khan of Sexual Harassment. Gulalai had contested the elections from six constituencies as in NA-53 against Imran Khan in Rawalpindi and in NA-25 Nowshera-1 she was beaten by PTI former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister Pervaiz Khattak.

The writer is a student of English Literature from Punjab University.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt