Journalists delegation visits SALU

KHAIRPUR - A delegation of leading journalists from Islamabad, Lahore and other places visited Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur in collaboration with Higher Education Commission, Pakistan. The delegation was led by Prof Dr Ghulam Raza Bhatti, Member, Operations & Planning and Ms Ayesha Ikram, Director Public Relations & Publications, Higher Education Commission, Pakistan.

The delegation called on Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Parveen Shah. Prof Dr Parveen Shah briefed the journalists about the academic, research and physical developments, academic programs, administrative hierarchy, achievements and future plan of university. The VC informed them university got ISO 9001:2015 certification. Two departments Business Administration and Teacher Education got accreditation while the accreditation of two other departments Computer Science and Pharmacy is underway.

Dr Shah said, “The SALU is the premier University of Upper Sindh imparting affordable education to the students belonging to below the poverty line.” Dr Shah briefed the delegation that recently two new campuses Ghotki and Shahdadkot have been made operational. She stressed the media persons to report in a balance manner while reporting the facts of the news and presents the developmental aspects of the any institution in the print and electronic media.

Prof Dr Ghulam Raza Bhatti said, the visit of Upper Sindh’s educational institutions is aimed at to share the progress, development and research culture promoted by the Higher Education Commission in the contemporary time.

Dr Bhatti said, “HEC is striving to promote the higher education without discrimination on the basis of performance and merit. It is the responsibility of the print and electronic media to highlight the soft image of the country and to play the role of bridge between public and institution.”

The journalists visited the various Faculties, Archaeology & Anthropology Museum, Syed Qaim Ali Shah Sports Complex, Centre for Biodiversity & Conservation and other prominent places. The delegation was consists of Muhammad Ali Jarrh, Rab Nawaz Ahmad Khan, Saima Nawaz Ch, Hafiz Imran Anwar, Atif Pervaiz, Hassan Hafeez, Zaigham Naqvi, Fozia Arfa, Khalida Parveen and other journalists.

During the visit, Prof Dr Noor Ahmed Shaikh, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Prof Dr Muhammad Yousuf Khushk, Dean, Faculty of Arts & Languages, Prof Dr Mumtaz Hussain Mahar, Dean, Faculty of Physical Sciences, Prof Dr Badaruddin Memon, Dean, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Prof Dr Imdad Hussain Sahito, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, Prof Dr Taj Muhammad Lashari, Media Coordinator, Prof Dr Ghulam Ali Mallah, Prof Dr Minhoon Khan Laghari, Prof Dr Ikhtiar Ali Ghumro and others were present on this occasion.



ePaper - Nawaiwaqt