3,215 polling stations set up in Mardan for LG polls

Peshawar - More than 1.4 million voters including 251 Ahmadi community persons will cast their votes in the upcoming local government (LG) elections for which Election Commission has established 3,215 polling stations. 225 polling stations have been declared most sensitive, sources said.  

Total population of Mardan district is 27, 33061, however 14, 37339 voters including 806,358 male and 630,730 female are registered. The sources said that 251 Ahmadi community members including 114 male and 137 female are registered in Mardan district.  

The Election Commission has established 3,215 polling stations while 576 have been declared sensitive, 225 most sensitive and 250 normal polling stations. Mardan district is comprised of five tehsils Mardan, Takhatbhai, Katlang, Rustam and Garhi Kapura. 

Total registered voters in Mardan tehsil are 553,031 including 309,507 male and 243,285 female voters.   

A total of 11 candidates will vie for the slot of Mardan tehsil mayor. They include Himayatullah Mayar from ANP, Lakhkar Khan from PTI, Maulana Amnat Shah of JUI-F, Asad Ali Kashmiri of PPP, Mushtaq Seemab from JI and PML-N’s Inayat Shah Bacha.  

Total registered voters in tehsil Takhatbhai are 362,813 including 205,156 male and 157,648 female voters.  

For Takhatbhai tehsil chairmanship seven candidates, including an independent candidate, are in run. Nasir Khan son of former MPA Bahadur Khan will contest election on ANP ticket, Khawar Khan son of former provincial minister Iftikhar Mohmand will contest election on PTI ticket, Aurungzeb Khan from PPP, Muhammad Saeed from JUI-F, Mumtaz Khan from PML-N, Mazullah Khan from JI and Ayaz Ali as independent candidate.  

In tehsil Katlang total registered voters are 196,606 including 110,625 male and 85980 female voters. Nine candidates including two independents are contesting election for Katlang tehsil chairmanship. 

Emadullah Yousafzai from JUI-F, Fazl-e-Rahman from ANP, Mohammad Aziz from PPP, Zarshad Khan from PTI, Samar Khan from PML-N, Saeed Kamal from QWP, Ali Abbas Khan from JI while Laiq Nawaz and Sartaj Khan will contest election as independent candidates. 

Total registered voters in Garhi Kapura tehsil are 166,104 including 92723 male and 73380 female voters. For Garhi Kapura tehsil chairman’s slot seven candidates including three independents are contesting election. Bakhtawar Khan from ANP, Shah Faisal Khan from PTI, Mohammad Ayaz from JUI-F, Asad Jamal from JI are in the run for tehsil chairman’s slot while Akhtar Ali, aMohammad Arshad and Mohammad Naeem are contesting election as independent candidates. 

Total registered voters in tehsil Rustam are 158,785 including 8, 8347 male and 7, 0437 female voters.  

For Rustam tehsil chairman’s slot, six candidates are contesting election. They include Muzzafar Shah from PTI, Ishaq Khan from ANP, Akhtar Nawaz from PML-N, Ayub Khan from PPP, Sajjad Saeed from JI and Mubarik Ahmad from JUI-F. 

The ruling party PTI will face a tough challenge from ANP, JUI-F, PPP, PML-N and JI in the upcoming local government elections in Mardan.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt