The University of Agriculture Faisalabad Academic Council has approved a new undergraduate admission policy under which students of Grade 12 will be admitted provisionally in the first degree Programmes including BS, BSc, BBA on the weightage of matriculation, first year score and entry test results before the announcement of intermediate final results. The entry test is likely to be held by the end of next month whereas the classes will commence in September.

The 277 Academic Council Session was presided over by UAF Vice Chancellor Dr Iqrar Ahmad. Registrar Muhammad Hussain conducted the proceeding as secretary. On the occasion, the VC said that the students would be admitted provisionally while their final results of FSC/ FA would be considered later. He said that the admission system was applicable in many leading educational institutions including LUMS and NUST. Talking about the teacher-students ratio, he said that it had stretched to 1-30 from 1-20 a year ago. He said that the UAF would recruit 200 teachers this year keeping in view the increasing enrolment that had touched to 20,500 this year. He said that last year, the UAF recruited 130 teachers.

Talking about the latest development, he said that the USAID funded Centre for Advanced Studies in Agriculture and Food Security had been set up at the university to address the issue of food security in the country. He said that the Punjab Government had approved establishment of Punjab Bio-Energy Institute at the University to address energy crisis through alternative source. He said that the Chinese Foreign Minister in his visit to Pakistan had formally launched Confucius Centre established at the UAF to enhance bilateral relations in cultural and education sectors.

The House also approved launching degree in BS (computer sciences) and business programmes at the sub-campuses of the UAF. Best citation award was also conferred on Dr Muhammad Farooq from Department of Agronomy, Dr Haq Nawaz Bhatti from Department of Chemistry, Dr Abdul Wahid from Department of Botany and Dr Zahid Abbas from the Department of Parasitology.

The house also approved nomination of Dr Muhammad Ashfaq, Director, Institute of Agri and Resource Economics and Dr Tashira Iqbal, Department of Chemistry as members, Finance and Planning Committee.