ISLAMABAD   -  The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) yesterday suspended membership of 154 parliamentarians due to their failure to submit details of assets and liabilities to the commission.

These lawmakers include Federal Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination Dr Fahmida Mirza, Federal Minister of Maritime Affairs Ali Zaidi and Federal Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry and Special Assistant to PM on CDA Affairs Ali Nawaz Awan.

The membership of PML-N senior leader Senator Mussadik Malik and Maiza Hameed was also suspended as they failed to submit details of their assets within the due date.

According to sub-section 1 of the section 137 of Election Act 2017, the parliamentarians must submit details of their assets and liabilities along with those of their spouses and dependent children by December 31 every year. Section 137 of the Election Act 2017 further states that on the first day of January every year, the commission through a press release will publish the names of those parliamentarians who have failed details of their assets to the Commission within the due date. It is important to mention here that the ECP every year suspends membership of those parliamentarians who fail to submit details of their assets within the due date given by the commission.