PAC meeting on 25th to elect new chairman

ISLAMABAD - The PPP-led Federal government has finally decided to summon the meeting of PAC on April 25th to elect its Chairman as the slot was lying vacant after the resignation of Ch Nisar Ali Khan.
The sources told the scribe that the meeting, which was going to be held after almost six months, would elect its Chairman after that the committee would start working on weekly basis.
They further stated that the PPP leadership has given a nod to MNA Nadeem Afzal Gondal to contest election for the said slot.
‘There are chances that Nadeem Afzal Gondal will be elected unopposed but the Q-League also seems interested for the seat. The PML-Q legislator Riaz Fatyana and some others are also struggling to get this seat’, the sources added.
MNA Nadeem Afzal Gondal that is likely to become the elected Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee is also a Chairman of National Assembly Standing Committee on Rules of Procedure & Privileges.
The sources informed that MNA Chaudhry Abdul Ghafoor of PPP might replace MNA Gondal as Chairman NA Standing Committee on Rules of Procedure & Privileges. However, according to the rules, a MNA can chair two Committees simultaneously. 
The slot of the Chairman of Public Accounts Committee was lying vacant from the last several months as its Chairman Nisar Ali Khan who is also an Opposition leader in NA, has resigned in November last year as Chairman PAC in protest against the appointment of Akhtar Buland Rana as Auditor General Pakistan.
It is pertinent to mention here that after the resignation of Nisar Ali Khan from the Chairmanship of the said committee, no meeting of PAC could be called besides he also reportedly refused the Speaker National Assembly to lead the Committee.   
The Public Accounts Committee comprises of almost 23 members including Minister in-charge while the remaining members are Noor Alam Khan, Asfandyar Wali Khan, Yasmin Rehman, Noor ul Haq Qadri, Rana Farooq Saeed Khan, Riaz Fatyana, Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Zahid Hamid, Ayaz Sadiq, Pervaiz Malik, Saeed Ahmad Zafar, Hamid Yar Hiraj, Riaz Pirzada, Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Haidar Abbas Rizvi, Aasia Nasir, Rukhsana Bangash, Begum Shahnaz Sheikh, Ch Nisar Ali Khan, Nadeem Afzal Gondal and Qamar Zaman Kaira.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt