LAHORE - Senior Journalist Abbas Shabbir elected new president of Rawalpindi Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) unopposed while Arif Khan and Sohail Raja were elected as general secretary and finance secretary respectively during electoral meeting of the association on Thursday. 

The electoral general council meeting of RISJA was held here at Islamabad Tennis Complex, under the supervision of chairman RISJA Abdul Mohi Shah in which more than 40 members were present during the important meeting. Former RISJA President Ayaz Akbar and Secretary Arif Khan presented the performance report of the association and paid rich tribute to members for staying united and working for the noble cause of promoting sports. 

The other newly elected office bearers are Asif Naveed SVP, Faheem Akhtar and Hafiz Ubaid VPs, Faisal Mansoor and Samra Athar joint secretaries, Khurram Shehzad information secretary while seasonal sports journalist Faheem Anwar Khan, Afzal Javed, Nasir Abbas Naqvi, Asim Nawaz Abbasi, Raza Abid Mustafa, Rizwan Malik, Rehan Sheikh, Gabriel De Souza and Farooq Ahmed were elected in the executive body of the association. 

Addressing the meeting, RISJA Chairman Abdul Mohi Shah appreciated the services of former president Ayaz Akbar and said that the newly-elected president Abbas Shabbir would play a key role in the welfare of the association and RISJA Will continue to play its role in the promotion of sports in the country. New President Abbas Shabbir said that he would raise voice for the rights of sports journalists in every forum, hoping that all his colleagues would work together for the welfare of the association. “We will expand the scope of RISJA activities and try to provide the best facilities to the RISJA members.” 

On this occasion, former President Ayaz Akbar, while congratulating the newly-elected body, said that Abbas Shabbir is a big name in sports world and all will work together for the welfare of sports journalists. It is pertinent to mention that RISJA is the only registered body in Rawalpindi and Islamabad, established in 1986.