Jayawardene, Samaraweera punish Pakistan attack

KARACHI - Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene unbeaten 136 and with Thilan Samaraweera (130) added 229 for unbeaten fourth wicket stand to place his team in a strong position against Pakistan on the first day of the first test here Saturday at the National stadium. Sri Lanka winning the toss straightway went into to punish Pakistan's inexperienced attack posting 406 for three wickets at the close of play. Pakistan took longer than the allotted time to bowl its 90 overs and maybe punished for slow over rate. Samaraweera made quick unbeaten 130 in 155 balls hitting 21 fours. Younis Khan on debut as full time skipper preferred to attacking field throughout the day which helped the visitors to score freely. Pakistan also paid dearly for spilling at least two catches both of Jayawardene. The Lankan skipper was first let off at 17 by pacer Umar Gul in a caught and bowled chance. And at 41 off young debutante pacer Sohail Khan, he was dropped by vice captain Misbah-ul-Haq at slip, who earlier had three catches. However, he took fine right-handed catch of Malinda Warnapura on the bowling of Yasir Arafat. His earlier catch of debutant young Parnavithana for duck was result of a superb anticipation that made Sri Lanka one down for just three runs in the first over. He also grabbed a mishook from Sangakkara off Danish Kaneria after the visiting batsman had scored 70. As many as 59 boundaries were hit on the opening day, 20 of which went to the credit of Jayawardene who was sedate as compared to another century maker Samaraweera. Jayawardene played cautiously, to completed in hundred in 169 balls had 15 fours and in next 36 runs he hit five fours. Sri Lankans are expected to push the advantage further when play resumes on Sunday (today). If they manage a mammoth total in the first innings, Pakistani batsmen would find things difficult particularly in the presence of spinning duo of Muthiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis. Amongst the six bowlers used, pacer Yasir Arafat was the most impressive. He bowled 17 overs and took one for 57. Danish Kaneria as usual was expensive. He conceded 93 runs in 24 overs for one wicket. However inexperienced Sohail Khan was most expensive. He gave away 105 in 16 overs. He, however, was unlucky not to have taken the wicket of Jayawadrene. As promised, Younis relied on his pace attack from the start. Before the start of play he preferred to give a test cap to Sohail Khan in place of Muhammed Talha. But his pace attack had limited success. Opener Khurrum Manzoor and Sohail won their test caps when they were included in the playing 11 which includes, Salman Butt, Younis, Mishab, Shoaib Malik, Faisal Iqbal, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Gul, Kaneria and Arafat. Fawad Alam was made 12th man. SCOREBOARD SRI LANKA: M. Warnapura c Haq b Arafat 59 T. Paranavitana c Haq b Gul 0 K. Sangakkara c Haq b Kaneria 70 M. Jayawardene not out 136 T. Samaraweera not out 130 EXTRAS: (lb3, nb7, w1) 11 TOTAL: (for three wkts) 406 Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Paranavitana), 2-93 (Warnapura), 3-177 (Sangakkara) BOWLING: Umer Gul 16-1-82-1 (1w) Sohail Khan 16-1-105-0 Yaser Arafat 17-0-57-1 (2nb) Shoaib Malik 16-2-60-0 (4nb) Danish Kaneria 24-2-93-1 (1nb) Younus Khan 1-0-6-0 Overs: 90 Toss: Sri Lanka Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS), Steve Davis (AUS) TV umpire: Zamir Haider (PAK) ICC match referee: Chris Broad (ENG).

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt