ISLAMABAD - Former world snooker champion M Asif retained his NBP Ranking Snooker Championship 2016 title, after defeating M Bilal 8-3 in the best of 15 frames final played in Karachi on Monday.

Asif came from behind to beat Bilal, as Asif was 1-2 down after three frames, but the champion showed his class and took the first frame 64-56. He lost the second frame 5-88 and third frame 44-69, before bouncing back in style to take the fourth frame 72-34, fifth 62-49, sixth 60-18 while played one of the best games in the seventh frame scoring century break winning 130-01, won the eight frame 69-36, ninth 83-0, lost the 10th frame 29-72 before winning the 11th frame 107-32 to clinch the title.

Pakistan Billiard and Snooker Association (PSBA) president Alamgir A Shaikh along with chief guest Mudassir H Khan, Ovais Asad Khan, M Anwar Farooqi, Munawwar Hussain, Zulfiqar Ramzi along with other dignitaries and snooker lovers were also present on the final.

M Asif received Rs 60,000 cash and trophy, while Bilal got Rs 35,000 cash.

The semifinalists receive Rs 15,000 each, quarterfinalists Rs 5000 each while the highest break award of Rs 5000 cash went to Sharjeel Mehmood who played 140 break, while total 11 century breaks were witnessed in the event.