LAHORE - ICL rebel players, opener Imran Nazir and all-rounder Rana Navedul Hasan have staged a comeback in the Pakistan national team for the five match one-day series against Sri Lanka and the Champions Trophy later this year while controversial and always-unfit fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar failed to impress the selectors as the initial team was announced by the PCB here Wednesday. The Pakistan Cricket Board announced a 16-member team for the Sri Lanka ODIs beginning from July 30 while a preliminary 30-man squad for the South Africa Champions Trophy from September 22 to October 5, which was shifted to the country from Pakistan due to security reasons. Nazir and Naved were the former players who returned to the squad after they were banned from joining the Indian Cricket League in 2007. Earlier, Abdur Razzak and Mohammad Yousuf were the other two players recalled in the national line-up after splitting from the rebel league. However, Pakistan opener Salman Butt has been given a time out from cricket to regain form and fight back his place in the team. And instead Nasir Jamshed was preferred to do the needful. However, Umer Akmal, the younger brother of wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal, has got inducted in the team for the ODIs against Sri Lanka after having played a successful two century innings for Pakistan A in Australia. On the other hand, Akhtar did not even get a place in the Pakistan's Champions Trophy team but Mohammad Asif, who is back in news for his marriage reports with television actress Veena Malik, has been included in the team. By September, he would have served his drugs ban imposed on him by the Indian Premier League committee for having tested positive for nandrolone. It was infection in Akhtar's genital warts that kept him out of cricket for quite sometime and later he failed to proved fitness in a mystery test taken by PCB human resource director and interim selection committee chief Wasim Bari. The top eight countries - Australia, England, South Africa, India, Pakistan, the West Indies, Sri Lanka and New Zealand - are due to take part in the Trophy, which was first held in 1998. The 30-member preliminary team will be squeezed to 15 next month. In the ODIs against Sri Lanka, Dambulla will host matches on July 30, August 1 and August 3, while two games will be held at Colombo on August 7 and August 9. The only twenty20 game will also be played in Colombo on August 12.