ISLAMABAD - Speaker National Assembly Raja Pervaiz Ashraf here on Wednesday administered the oath from the newly elected member of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) Abu Bakr who recently won by-election from NA-240 Karachi’s District Korangi.

After taking the oath, the elected member signed the roll. The constituency had fallen vacant after the death of MQM-P MNA and senior leader Iqbal Muhammad Ali Khan on April 19. Muhammad Abu Bakar had won the by-election after securing 10,683 votes while Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) candidate, Shahzada Shahbaz, became the runner-up after obtaining 10,618 votes. The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Haqiqi’s Rafiuddin, Pakistan Peoples Party’s Nasir Lodhi and Pak Sarzameen Party’s (PSP) Shabbir Kaimkhani managed to secure 8,383, 5,248 and 4,797 votes respectively.

The voter turnout remained low at 8.38 per cent. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), which has the maximum MNAs from Karachi, had boycotted the by-poll. In the last general elections, the PTI had received 29,939 votes from the constituency and ranked third. Another major political stakeholder of the city Jamaat-e-Islami also opted not to contest the by-election.