LAHORE - Karachi Basketball Association (KBBA) President Ghulam Muhammad Khan has announced a 17-member Karachi basketball team on the recommendation of the selection committee headed by M Yaqub for the All Pakistan Veterans Memorial Basketball Tournament commencing from May 30 in Islamabad. From today, the selected 17-member team will be trained at International Abdul Nasir Basketball Aram Bagh, Karachi. After that, the final 12-member team will be finalized on May 26. The selection committee for the 2-day trials included International Zafar Iqbal, Ghulam Rasool, Fawad Ali Khan and Zahid Malik, while KBBA Secretary Tariq Hussain was present as an assistant. Bounce Club’s Mohsin Riaz will be team captain and Raj Kumar Lakhwani of Karachi Basketball Club vice captain. Other players include Daniyal Ahmed, Shahmir Zaheer, Mohammad Athar, Anas Usman, Talha Amjad, Mohammad Shabbar, Ali Muttaqvi, Usman Bashir, Zain Ali Tanveer, Ali Hassan, Shaaf Khan, Usman Khawaja, Hassan Zafar, Asad Imam and Hamza Khawaja. The players are directed to report to team coach Zahid Malik today (Monday) at 7:30 pm. Meanwhile, the 14th National Bank Cup Basketball Tournament has started from today. The final will be played on May 27 at 8 pm.