KARACHI - After consuming over four hours in breaks and delay on differences over inclusion of two small opposition parties--Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan and Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal-- in a committee to deliberate on new local bodies system in the province, the Sindh Assembly on Wednesday formed a 19-member select committee.

Major opposition parties including Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan were not willing to include TLP and MMA in the committee. Local Government Minister Syed Nasir Hussain Shah said that the treasury decided six names for the select committee from the government sides and sought five names from opposition.

Syed Abdul Rasheed of MMA rose to ask the chair as to why opposition leader did not include the members of MMA and TLP in the proposed select committee. He was of the view that it was responsibility of the provincial government to include names of small opposition parties in the committee.

Khawaja Izharul Hassan of MQM-P strongly opposed the inclusion of MMA member in the committee and said that Syed Abdul Rasheed did not support Haleem Adil Sheikh as leader of opposition.

“You staged a fruit gala for 29 days in front of the Assembly and sold away Karachi by entering an agreement with the ruling party,” he told the MMA member. Opposition Leader Haleem Adil Sheikh suggested the treasury to incorporate Syed Abdul Rasheed from the government sides and said that he never supported the joint opposition. “Opposition parties, except TLP and MMA, were not part of standing committees,” he said.

The opposition leader also came down heavily on Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani, saying that he actually did not want constitution of the select committee. “Speaker Sahib, you do not want to form the committee and just staging a show,” he told the Speaker.

Durrani did not like Sheikh’s remarks and hit back to say that he did not come to stage a show but to watch the show stage by the opposition members. “You sat me with three hours in the committee room but did not decide anything. I requested you to give me the names of your members but to no avail,” he added.

The Speaker advised both the treasury and opposition members to sit together and sort out the issue.

Durrani called the Question Hour after Parliamentary Affairs Minister Mukesh Kumar Chawla said that the government was ready to sit with opposition to finalise the names. After the Question, the chair adjourned the house for Asr prayers at around 5pm. However, the proceedings were resumed after over two-hour with the Speaker sitting in his chair and the ministers consulting each other.

After settlement on the committee members names, Local Government Minister Syed Nasir Hussain Shah introduced The Sindh Local Government (Amendment) Bill, 2022 and The Sindh Law (Amendment) Bill, 2022 and the same were sent to the select committee, with directives to report back within 45 days. The 19-member committee included Syed Nasir Hussain Shah, Mukesh Kumar Chawla, Ghulam Qadir Chandio, Pir Mujib ul Huq, Imdad Pitafi, Nida Khuhro, Sharmila Farooqui, Dr Sohrab Sarki, Ghanwer Khan Isran from the government while from opposition Haleem Adil Sheikh, Firdaus Shamim Naqvi, Khurram Sher Zaman, Khawaja IZharul Hassan, Muhammad Hussain Khan, Javed Hanif, Husnain Mirza, Mufti Qasim Fakhri and Syed Abdul Rasheed would be the members. Separately, The Provincial Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Bill, 2022 and The Constitution of Search Committee Bill, 2022 were passed unanimously.

Later, the session was adjourned to 16th March.

| LG Minister Nasir Hussain Shah sends The Sindh Local Government (Amendment) Bill, 2022 and The Sindh Law (Amendment) Bill, 2022 to committee with directives to report back within 45 days