Sindh MPAs take oath amid opposition protests against ‘rigging’

The newly-elected members of Sindh Assembly took oath on Saturday during the inaugural session.

Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani administered the oath to newly elected MPAs.

As per the ECP’s results, PPP won the most provincial assembly seats (84) followed by MQM-P (28), while independent candidates bagged 14, GDA 2, and JI two seats in the February 8 polls in Sindh.

Syed Murad Ali Shah has once again been nominated as the PPP’s candidate for Sindh chief minister slot.

Meanwhile, Syed Awais Qadir Shah and Anthony Naveed would be PPP’s candidate for Sindh Assembly speaker and deputy speaker offices, respectively.

Earlier, the opposition parties staged a protest demonstration outside the Sindh Assembly, alleging rigging in the general elections.

The police launched the crackdown and arrested 10 workers of the Qaumi Awami Tehreek.

The provincial administration imposed Section 144 while prohibiting gatherings, rallies, and protests.

Several opposition parties including the Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA), the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), and the Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) ignored the Section 144 and staged protest against the alleged rigging.

Earlier, the newly-elected MPAs took oath in Sindhi, Urdu and English languages according to their convenience.

As many as 111 MPAs from PPP and 36 members of MQM-P took the oath.

After the allocation of reserved seats, PPP became the largest party of the house with 114 members while MQM-P has the numerical strength of 36. Moreover, three MPAs belong to GDA in Sindh Assembly.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt