A day to remember: Babar, Shaheen, Rizwan shine for Pakistan internationally

Today has been marked as the most remarkable day for Pakistan cricket and for those who love to play cricket and support their heroes in good and bad times.

The world cricket governing body International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that national team skipper Babar Azam has been named as ICC ODI player of the year for 2021. Apart from Azam, other nominees were Bangladesh's Shakib Al Hasan, South Africa's Janneman Malan, and Ireland's Paul Stirling for the award. In all, Babar graced the show.

Babar Azam might have played only six ODI's in 2021. In those matches, he hammered 405 runs at an average of 67.50 with two centuries.

Coming to the other historical moment, Shaheen Shah Afridi has been named ICC cricketer of the year and awarded Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy by ICC.

In the year 2021, Shaheen bagged 78 wickets in 36 internationals at an average of 22.20. His best bowling figure was 6/51. The best moment for Shaheen fans was when he sent KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli back to the pavilion.

Not only Babar and Shaheen but the wicket-keeper batter Mohammad Rizwan also made his country proud when ICC awarded him the T20I cricketer of the year award.

He ruled the roost in 2021 when it came to the shortest format of the game. Rizwan made a staggering 1,326 runs in only 29 matches at an average of 73.66 and a strike rate of 134.89 last year.

Taking to Twitter, Prime Minister Imran Khan lauded the stars by saying "Congratulations to our cricket stars. You have made us proud."

The PCB chief Ramiz Raja also congratulated the trio. In a tweet, he wrote " #incredible3 The world of cricket is richer and so watchable because of you. A proud moment for the fans who through you can now see a new beginning."

The author has graduated in Linguistics and Literature from NUML and has a vast experience in Journalism. A dedicated individual who possesses a deep passion for sports and politics. Catch him on X at @yforyashal

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt