Q, N reach seat adjustment

ISLAMABD - The PML-N and PML-Q (Likeminded) have reportedly finalised seat adjustments on some national and provincial constituencies while decision on remaining seats is expected by the last week of the current month.
Sources close to the development told this scribe, that the seat adjustment on some seats has been made during the talks which remained in progress for the past some time. The sources explained that this adjustment was delayed as PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif was not in the country. A meeting is expected in the last week of this month that may produce some good results, the sources added.
They informed that N-League has agreed to make a seat adjustment in Gujranwala for Hamid Nasir Chattha of PML-Q (Likeminded). Out of seven constituencies of Gujranwala, five were won by the PML-N in the last general elections and remaining two had gone to to PPP. Chattha is currently a member of Punjab Assembly from PP-103 Gujranwala while he could not win the National Assembly seat in 2008 general elections.
The sources said that Hamid Nasir Chattha will expectedly contest next general elections from NA-101 Gujranwala from where Iftikhar Ahmad Cheema is a sitting MNA, however, the PML-N leadership would supposedly adjust him in another constituency. They maintained that the seat adjustment with PML-N in Sindh was quite easier and Abdul Ghaffar Qureshi and other three to four candidates of Likeminded can easily be adjusted while Salim Saifullah Khan, central leader of Likeminded, will contest NA election from Lakki Marwat.
However, there was a single NA seat in Lakki Marwat that is NA-27 and the brother of Salim Saifullah, Hamayun Saifullah Khan, had won it in the last general elections.
The sources further said that both the parties were facing problems of seat adjustment in some of the constituencies as PML-N already has strong position in these constituencies.
“The main issue is of Hamayun Akhtar of PML-Q (Likeminded) as he wants to contest election from Lahore or from Faisalabad while both these constituencies are the strong hold of N- League and still they are running these constituencies,” the sources said. Beside, in NA-19 Haripur Sardar Muhammad Mushtaq Khan is a sitting MNA of PML-N while Umar Ayub Khan of PML-Q (Likeminded) also contests election from the same constituency. He was also elected from the same constituency in Musharraf tenure.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt