Chief Minister Punjab Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif has constituted Provincial Steering Committee for Boards of Management (BOM) of all the autonomous medical institutions including tertiary care and specialized healthcare of the Punjab for recommending names of members of the boards to the competent authority and to monitor the performance of these boards.

The first meeting of the Steering Committee constituted by Chief Minister Punjab held in the committee room of Secretary Specialized Healthcare and Medical Education Punjab at Civil Secretariat today. Besides, Secretary Health Najam Ahmad Shah, Special Secretary Health Dr. Sajid Mehmood Chohan and the other members of the committee including Dr. Zafar Iqbal Qureshi, Prof. Dr. Muhammad Saeed, Arif Saeed, Faisal Farid, Additional Secretary Health Dr. Salman Shahid, Deputy Secretary (Admn.) Raja Mansoor and other concerned officers attended the meeting. Secretary Specialized Healthcare and Medical Education Najam Ahmad Shah said that the main purpose of setting up of Steering Committee is to constitute effective and vibrant boards of management for the autonomous tertiary healthcare hospitals and specialized healthcare institutions. He said that the Provincial Steering Committee would present recommendations for the members of board of management to the government. The committee would also monitor performance of BOM on regular basis. The committee would also authorize to send recommendations to the government for addition/removal of members of the board. The committee would also set targets for the boards. Najam Ahmad Shah said that the main objective of all this exercise was to redress administrative issued to improve performance of tertiary care hospitals and resolving the problems faced by the doctors/medical students of the medical colleges. He said that government is focusing on providing best healthcare facilities in the public sector hospitals. He said that the Steering Committee would immediately send its recommendations to constitute new Boards of Management where the BOM have already completed their tenure.