LAHORE - Lahore Qalandars, who are seeking for the maiden Pakistan Super League title, will take on high-flying Multan Sultans in the PSL 7 finale here at the historic Gaddafi Stadium today (Sunday).

Young and energetic fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi will be leading the home favourite Lahore Qalandars side while consistent performer and reliable leader will be captaining strong Multan Sultans as the grand finale of Pakistan’s best cricketing brand – Pakistan Super League – will explode into action tonight at 7:30 pm in front of highly charged and electrifying crowd, which is expected to make Gaddafi Stadium jam-packed with their huge presence.

Lahore Qalandars are the only one of the six PSL teams yet to clinch the coveted trophy, with their best finish so far coming when they finished runners-up to Karachi Kings in PSL 2020. Although Qalandars have tough task to achieve that is to beat strong Sultans in the PSL 7 final, who won 9 out of their 10 first-round matches. Another interesting thing is that Lahore Qalandars were the only team that beat high-flying Sultans in the first round but Sultans successfully took the sweet revenge, when they routed Lahore by 28 runs in the Qualifiers.  Sensational Shaheen Shah Afridi, whose side edged out Islamabad United by six runs in a last-over thriller in the Eliminator 2 on Friday, vowed that his team will not settle for anything less than winning the trophy. “After Friday’s night’s incredible win, we want to settle for nothing but the HBL PSL trophy. The last month and a bit has been a memorable journey. After our success in Karachi, we have succeeded in raising the level of our game further backed by the passionate Lahore crowd.

“The joy of playing in front of a packed home crowd and winning is second to none. I really want to thank the Lahore crowd and request them to pack the GSL once again on Sunday as we will give it our all to win our first HBL PSL trophy in their presence,” said the Qalandars captain and added: “I am delighted with how the team has performed so far, we have come through tough situations with bat and ball as we have been challenged every inch of the way in this incredibly tough tournament. Multan is the form side but we have the belief that we can beat them and we will try our very best.”

Multan Sultans’ inspiration skipper M Rizwan believed that though it is extra pressure to defend the title yet they are keen to deliver and give their best to lift the PSL trophy once again. “It has been an amazing tournament for us and I as a captain could not have asked more from my players. Heading into the tournament as defending champions could have added extra pressure on us but I am delighted that the players and our management have succeeded in maintaining our high standards. “Lahore Qalandars have played good cricket throughout the HBL PSL 7 and I am sure they will have great support on Sunday. The Lahore crowd has been amazing and I am sure we will also have our supporters at the venue. Last year we won in front of an empty stadium in Abu Dhabi due to covid restrictions so the opportunity of lifting the trophy in front of a packed Gaddafi Stadium by the grace of Almighty Allah is amazing and our entire squad is fully motivated to deliver. “I want to thank our fans for their support and we look forward to the final tomorrow knowing well that we have them backing us on this memorable occasion,” added the Sultans skipper.

Both the PSL 7 finalists are power-packed in batting as well as in bowling. Qalandars have Fakhar Zaman as their opener who has so far scored a league record of 585 at a strike rate of 154.35. Rizwan is Sultan’s top run-getter with 532 runs while his opening partner Shan Masood has 459. Multan also have power hitters in Western Australian Tim David and former South African Rilee Rossouw. Their attack has Lahore born former South African Imran Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani and Khushdil Shah who all have 16 wickets in the tournament. Shaheen is the spearhead of Qalandars’ attack with 17 wickets while newcomer slinger Zaman Khan (16) and Pakistan international Haris Rauf has 15 wickets.



Lahore Qalandars


Multan Sultans

At 7:30 pm