Raja Pervaiz administers oath to 302 newly elected MNAs

As many as 302 newly elected members of the 16th National Assembly, out of a total of 336, took oath on Thursday.

Outgoing National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf administered the oath to the MNAs, said a press release issued by the National Assembly Secretariat.

Leading political figures — PML-N Quaid and former prime minister Nawaz Sharif, ex-prime minister Shehbaz Sharif, former president Asif Ali Zardari, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazal (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Yusuf Raza Gillani, Abdul Aleem Khan, Barrister Gohar Khan, Ali Muhammad Khan, Omar Ayub Khan, Asad Qaiser, and Sher Afzal Marwat — took the oath during the House proceedings.

Furthermore, three Senators — PML-N’s Nuzhat Sadiq, JUI-F’s Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, and PPP’s Yousuf Raza Gilani — resigned from the upper house of Parliament in order to join the National Assembly.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt