Lahore Garrison emerges as champion club of Punjab Golf

LAHORE   -  Lahore Garrison Team emerged as champion club of the Punjab Inter Club Golf Event 2021, conducted by Punjab Golf Association (PGA) and endorsed by Pakistan Golf Federation (PGF), and concluded here at the PAF Skyview Golf Club after two days of golfing combat among 20 member teams of Rawalpindi Golf Club, PAF Skyview Golf Club and Lahore Garrison Greens Golf Club.

Lahore Garrison Team surfaced as the finest one in a contest that brought them the champion golf club grading and the alluring trophy which was handed over to Lahore Garrison Captain Col Asif Mehdi by Brig (r) Shahid Wahab Rao, Honorary Secretary of Punjab Golf Association at the PAF Golf Club. Over the two days of the event, excellence in shot making came from the amateurs of Garrison Golf Club, which certainly looked technically superior to their adversaries from other clubs and equally impressive were the senior amateurs, boys, the lady amateurs and the girls.

Lahore Garrison owe their victory to solid and praiseworthy contributions from the amateurs, Muhymin, Damil Ataullah and Ahmed Kayani and the senior amateurs Raja Asif Mehdi, Captain Col (r) M Shafi and Rashid Akbar. Other team members, who can be acclaimed for good play are the two ladies, Suneya Osama and Ghazala Yasmin plus the two girls Bushra Fatima and Adina Ataullah. Victory was achieved by Lahore Garrison with a two days aggregate team score of 2,389. Rawalpindi Golf Club was the runner-up team with a team score of 2,667 while PAF Skyview Team ended with an aggregate team score of 2,762.

At the conclusion of the event, Brig (r) Shahid Wahab Rao, Honorary Secretary Punjab Golf Association, handed over the team trophy to Raja Asif Mehdi, Captain of Lahore Garrison Team, in a ceremony attended by participating golfers and families at the PAF Skyview Golf Club. The Punjab champions, Lahore Garrison, now travel to Karachi to face champions of other provinces in a competition to be held at Karachi Golf Club from September 10 to 12. The big incentive is that the winner club of Pakistan will be awarded Rs one million and the national champions trophy.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt