Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has swept the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in landmark general elections by standing victorious on 35 national and most of  provincial assembly seats.

Unofficial results put PTI ahead of other parties and independent candidates on 35 national and 99 provincial assemblies seats in the northwestern province. PTI chief Imran Khan won the national assembly constituency NA-1 of Peshawar by defeating ANP leader Ghulam Mohammad Bilour. Khan grabbed a total of 66,465 votes against Bilour's 19,324 votes and was declared successful unofficially. Ghulam Ahmad Bilour admitted his defeat before the results came in.

Besides winning all the four NA seats of Peshawar, the PTI was leading on 11 provincial assembly seats of the provincial capital as per the count made till the filing of this story.

Imran Khan early Sunday conceded defeat in general elections, but said his party would form the next government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Assad Omar, a senior leader in Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), sent his congratulations to the centre-right Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, which he said had emerged as the largest party, as results started to come through. But speaking to a private television, he refused to be defeatist.

"For Tehreek-e-Insaf it is a big day, a golden day. A party which has no existence in Parliament has emerged the second largest national party and the leading party in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa where God willing it is going to form a government," he said.

Omar said the PTI chief, who is flat on his back in hospital with a fractured spine after falling from the stage of a campaign rally, was following the results.

"He will give his reaction tomorrow, but I will say he knows how to win and how to lose, and after losing, how to come back. He is taking these results like a sportsman," Omar said.

"It is very clear that PTI has emerged as the largest party in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, so we will form our government here with the help of like-minded political parties," said Shaukat Yousafzai, who won a seat for the party in the provincial assembly.

“We will make a coalition with all those political parties and MPs who were never involved in corruption," he added.

Khan had called for an end to military operations and peace talks with the Taliban, making his party's win in the northwest an interesting proposition.

According to unofficial results, PTI’s Engineer Hamidul Haq has won NA-2 Peshawar by defeating former minister Arbab Alamgir and ANP leader Najeebullah. Sajid Nawaz Khan of PTI has been won from NA-3 of Peshawar defeating Noor Alam Khan and Iqbal Zafar Jhagra of PML-N. PTI’s Gulzar Khan is taking lead on PML-N’s Nasir Khan Musa Zai in the constituency of NA-4 Peshawar.

From NA-5 Nowshera PTI’s Pervez Khatak won by defeating ANP’s Daood Khatak. PTI’s Siraj Mohammad Khan won from NA-6 Nowshera. From NA-7 Charsada, JUI-F’s Maunlana Gohar Shah defeated ANP chief Asfandyar Wali Khan. From NA-8 Charsada, Qaumi Watan Party chief Aftab Sherpao is in winning position. PTI’s Nasir Khan is taking lead on former provincial chief minister Ameer Haidar Khan Hoti in NA-9. In NA-10, PTI’s Ali Mohammad Khan is taking lead on JUI-F Maulana Mohammad Qasim. In NA-11 Mardan PTI’s candidate Sajjad Ali is taking lead on PML-N’s Sher Afghan Khan. From NA-13 Swabi PTI’s Asad Qaisar is leading; from NA-14 Kohat Shehr Yar Afridi of PTI is taking lead; in NA-15 Karak a tough competition between PTI’s Nasir Khan Khatak and PML-N’s Rahmat Salam Khatak was in progress; from NA-16 Hangu PTI’s Khayal Zaman Orakzai was leading; form NA-17 Abbotabad PTI’s Dr Azhar Mehmood taking lead on Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan of PML-N; from NA-19 Haripur PTI’s Dr Raja Amir Zaman; from NA 20 Mansehra PML-N’s Sardar Mohammnad Yousaf; from NA-21 Mansehra Captain Safdar of PML-N is taking lead; from NA-26 Banno JUI-F’s Akram Khan Durrani; from NA-24 DI Khan PPP’s Waqar Ahmed Khan and from NA-18 PML-N’s Murtaza Javed Abbasi are taking lead on opponent candidates.

Admitting his defeat before the results came in, ANP leader Ghulam Ahmad Bilour said the people had expressed confidence in Imran Khan and had rejected them. Bilour told media persons “winning and losing is part of the game”.

He said "People are not satisfied with the politicians in power and they want change. I think what has happened was right and now we need to sit and analyze and see why we were rejected."

"I congratulate Imran Khan," Bilour said. Similarly, PTI's Engineer Hamidul Haq won NA-2 Peshawar-2 by securing 41361 votes and outclassed PPP's Arbab Alamgir and ANP's Arbab Najeeb who got 22,273 votes. JI's candidate Inayatullah unofficially got 14728 votes and declared winner from Dir Upper and defeated PPP's candidate.