Daniyal, Abdullah win 3rd President DHA Golf gross, net titles

LAHORE-Daniyal Lashari and Abdullah Aqib won the gross and net titles in the resolutely contested 3rd President DHA Golf Cup here at the par 72 Defence Raya Golf and Country Club Golf Course on Sunday. 
In the end, though Daniyal was declared the title winner, the consolation for the teenager Abdullah was that their playing scores for two rounds were level. Daniyal played a gross 76 in the first round and a splendid 73 on the final day, the aggregate adding up to 149, young Abdullah Aqib also had similar scores on both the competition days along with a comparable overall aggregate score of 146, yet the title was awarded to Daniyal as he had a better score on the back nine in the final round.
Usman Akram Sahi won the runners-up gross prize with two rounds scores of gross 77 in the first round and an admirable 73 in the final round. His championship score was 150 and he lost to the ultimate winner by a margin of one stroke. Third gross was secured by Omer Khawaja, his score being 154. Parkha Ijaz (gross 155), Salman Pasha (155) and Zain Ibrahim (156) also played well. 
Meritoriously excellent in net race was Abdullah Aqib with net scores of 69 and 68 and a total net score of 137. This young one revealed his golfing talent and is likely to shine as a star over the next twelve months thanks to parental effort and devotion of his coach M Afzal. Second in net category was Shamir Majid. Ali Hameed was the third net winner.
In invitational event, Amir Akram Ch claimed first gross, Maj Gen Azhar Naveed Hayat second and Lt Gen (R) Hilal Hussain third. Dr Ahmar Bajwa won the first net, Col Nadir Virk second and Col Moin third. 
The longest drive in invitational was hit by Atiq ur Rehman, nearest to the pin by Brig Shahid Wahab Rao, longest drive in main match by Omar Bin Naseer and nearest to pin by Maj Imran Mehmood. 
At the concluding ceremony, , top players were presented prizes by Lt Gen Abdul Aziz, President DHA and Brig Waheed Gul Satti, Administrator DHA in the presence of Brig (R) Ayyaz Masood, Defence Raya Golf Club, organizer Haroon Shafiq and participating golfers.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt