Senate committees elect chairmen in inaugural meetings

ISLAMABAD - Another three committees of Senate Thursday formally elected their chairpersons in inaugural meetings at the Parliament House.

Senator Mohsin Aziz, Senator Mushtaq Ahmed and Senator Talha Mehmood were elected as chairmen of Senate Standing Committees on Petroleum, Science and Technology and Cabinet Secretariat respectively.

Senator Mohsin Aziz's name was proposed by Senator Mir Kabeer Ahmed Shahi.

While chairing the committee, he said that the committee will deal with petroleum related issues of less developed areas in Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on priority basis.

Aziz is from KP and belongs to PTI. He is member of Standing Committee on Privitisation, Finance Revenue and Economic Affairs and Petroleum. Senator Mushtaq Ahmed's name was proposed by Senator Maula Bakhsh Chandio.  Senator Mushtaq Ahmed said that the committee will strive to work towards utilizing the potential of youth and make Pakistan a knowledge based economy.

Senator from KP, Ahmed belongs to Jamaat-e-Islami Pakistan (JIP). Senator Talha Mehmood's name was proposed by Senator Najma Hameed.  The chairman vowed to continue the work done in the previous tenure and make this committee even more vibrant and active.

Elected on Jamiatul-Ulema-e-Islam (F) (JUI-F) seat, Muhammad Talha Mehmood hails from KP. His tenure will end in March 2024.

He is member of committees on cabinet secretariat, Finance revenue and economic Affairs and planning development reforms.

JUI-F Senator Muhammad Talha Mehmood - a business giant- who owns a famous battery brand -last year in June, reportedly, tried to influence Senate Standing Committee on Finance - which was at that time discussing proposed taxation measures in the finance bill 2017-18.

He used his powers as member of the committee to stop the government from reducing customs duties on the i port of batteries.

In 2006, Mehmood became Senator first time and was reelected in 2012, he is considered a seasoned politician.

The Senate committees have been electing new heads, after the induction of 52 new senators, March, this year. The new senators replaced lawmakers who retired after completing their term, March this year.

Being a permanent house, Senate members are elected for a term of six years through elections held every three years.

The addition of four minority members - one each from provinces - after the 18th constitutional amendment -increased the total strength of upper house to 104.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt