333 degrees awarded at Greenwich University’s convocation

KARACHI - The country requires your services for the growth and development in every sphere of life, therefore you should come forward and use your education and knowledge in a vibrant way for the betterment of society.

These views were expressed by speakers at the 12th Convocation of the Greenwich University held here at its campus on Saturday. While congratulating the students, they said that youth of the country could help mitigate the sufferings of ailing humanity.

A total of 333 degrees were awarded to 213 undergraduates, 108 graduates, while 19 gold medals were also given to the students of each department for showing academic excellence.

On the occasion, Honoris Causa degree was awarded to Anwar Maqsood, renowned playwright and host, Sardar Yasin Malik, Hilton Pharma chairman, SM Muneer, Din Group of Industries chairman and Air Commodore (r) Shabbir Ahmed Khan.

Honoris Causa is the highest academic honour conferred by Greenwich University upon extraordinary individuals in recognition of their outstanding achievements in their respective fields.

Speaking on the occasion, University Chancellor Seema Mughal emphasised that aim of the university was not only to prepare students for their own better future, but also for a brighter Pakistan. She said Greenwich had been working hard on its mission for the last three decades and had already crossed many milestones in the process.

The chancellor said Greenwich had opened a campus in Mauritius last year. “And we hope to play a vital role in ensuring the provision of improved educational opportunities to everyone,” she added. She further said that entering the Mauritian market had a significant political and economic importance for Pakistan. “This venture will surely generate foreign exchange for Pakistan under the head of export of services,” she said, and added, “Politically it is important because we can foster relations and make new friends in Africa.” 

Greenwich University also has a Platform Party that consists of some of the most respectable and outstanding members of the society.

For year 2017, the platform party members include  Gen (r) Mohammad Siddique, Muffasar Malik from KCCI, Arif Habib, Arif Habib Group chairman, Professor Dr Mukhtar Ahmed (SI), Higher Education Commission chairman, Dr Sardar Yaseen Malik (HI) (SI), Chairman Hilton Pharma, Dr. Sirajuddin Aziz, President and CEO, Habib Metropolitan Bank Ltd, Dr. Sultana Siddiqui, President Hum TV network.

ePaper - Nawaiwaqt